The Good Oil

Discussion about MX5s, Roadsters & Miatas, not directly fitting into one of the categories below. Please keep it on topic.

Moderators: LilRay.Sun, Furai, Growler, zorruno, jif

Sugoi
Hey. They are NOT Training wheels.
Hey.  They are NOT Training wheels.

The Good Oil

Post by Sugoi » Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:49 pm

Hi All,

I am kinda new to this whole MX-5 thing and wanting to learn a bit more about my car etc. I thought that I would start with the basics, like an oil change, but was wondering how much oil do they take? I have a 1992 1.6 Engine.

I am also keen to find out what oil you guys use? Is it worth using something like Mobil 1? My current plan was to run Castrol Magnatec, or are there other better options?

Bye for now :wink:

Ian
I count 5-s in my sleep
I count 5-s in my sleep

Post by Ian » Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:31 am

Hi there...(also in ChCh)

Can I suggest you get yourself an owners handbook for your model...very useful!
You might also consider buying Keith Tanners book Miata Performance Projects (big seller world wide) which covers oil changes and lots more. Avail at Fazzaz in Lichfield St or Mazline in Disraeli St.
Cant Mazda parts dept may be able to help with handbook, or try emailing Ross at MX5 Mart in Hamilton...

Good luck, Ian
93 1.8,intake/ex mods,Megasqirt PNP,torsen ,konis,GC coilovers,Nitto-01,cage,sparco seat,Schroth harness.

XPECTD
See my 5 and raise you.
See my 5 and raise you.

Post by XPECTD » Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:14 am

Greetings,

I actually asked a similar question over here:
http://www.mx5forum.co.nz/about103.html

I ended up going for the Castrol Magnatec 5w-40, but Im coming up time to change it again so I'll look at going fully synthetic with Mobil 1.

Much good advice on that thread :-)
XPECTD
Black 1992 V-Special Edition

Driving - No longer about JUST getting from A -> B

Miatamad
Keep calm, Forum Moderator here.

Post by Miatamad » Wed Jul 19, 2006 10:44 am